Pranav Mistry: The thrilling potential of SixthSense technology

Pranav Mistry is the inventor of SixthSense, a wearable device that enables new interactions between the real world and the world of data.

Why you should listen to him:

PranavPranav Mistry is one of those unique and inspiring individuals who have the capability of not only changing the technological world, but the computing world for greater society as well. He is one of the world’s true visionaries, who excels at the ability to fuse design with programming knowledge.

Born in India, this computer scientist has obtained a number of degrees, including a B.A. in Computer Science and Engineering, an M.A in Media Arts and Sciences and a Master of Design from Industrial Design Centre. He is currently a Ph.D. candidate as a research assistant at MIT Media Lab. Mistry has also worked as a UX Researcher with Microsoft.

OmniTouchSurfacesEven before his education has finished, Pranav Mistry had shown his capabilities as a designer and inventor with his creations including Mouseless – an invisible computer mouse, SPARSH – an innovative way to copy and paste between digital devices, Blinkbot – a gaze and blink controlled robot, a 3D pen, Quickies – intelligent sticky notes and his best known work on SixthSense. He has a lot of interests such as AI, Augmented reality, Ubiquitous computing Gestural interaction, machine vision, collective intelligence and robotics. Mistry is a self-proclaimed ‘Desigineer’.

SixthSense is Pranav Mistry’s most inspiring inventions to date. The technology sees users wear a device that visually augments surfaces and objects we are physically interacting with. This produces a gestural interface that mimics the physical world around us with digital information.sixth_sense_device_components

The system uses a camera and a tiny projector attempting to free information from its natural confinements by integrating it with reality and thus projecting the user’s entire world onto their computer.gsb-global-speakers-bureau

Mistry’s innovation was presented to a TED conference in 2009 and quickly became the talking point of many computer science experts. This technology is an undoubtable force in the forging of new systems of both artificial intelligence and real life.

Some previous projects from Mistry’s work at MIT includes intelligent sticky notes, Quickies, that can be searched and can send reminders; a pen that draws in 3D; and TaPuMa, a tangible public map that can act as Google of physical world. His research interests also include Gestural and Tangible Interaction, Ubiquitous Computing, AI, Machine Vision, Collective Intelligence and Robotics.

ted_logoEmail to a friend »

18 Comments Add yours

  1. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Many thanks!

    Like

  2. Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have created some nice practices and we are looking to trade solutions with others, be sure to shoot me an email if interested.
    http://www.vuitton-japan.com http://www.vuitton-japan.com/

    Like

  3. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

    Like

  4. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your web page again.

    Like

  5. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a excellent job with this. Additionally, the blog loads very quick for me on Safari.
    Superb Blog!

    Like

  6. Thank all of you…
    I really appreciate all your comments.

    Kiss.

    Like

  7. Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog stand out.
    Please let me know where you got your design.
    Cheers
    スワロフスキー ボールペン

    Like

  8. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.

    You definitely know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

    エルメス

    Like

  9. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say excellent blog!
    エルメス

    Like

  10. We stumbled over here different web address and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking into your web page again.
    エルメス

    Like

  11. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thank you
    カシオ プロトレック

    Like

  12. I? not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future. All the best
    カシオ エディフィス

    Like

  13. Wow that was unusual.
    I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyways, just wanted to say excellent blog!
    ルイヴィトン

    Like

  14. Hey there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

  15. I like what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work and reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll.

    Like

  16. Interesting blog!
    Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Appreciate it

    Like

  17. I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome web log!

    Like

Tell me more...